FIBA Awards: Celebrating Excellence in Global Basketball

The Fédération Internationale de Basketball (FIBA) is dedicated to promoting and celebrating excellence in basketball across the globe. To recognize outstanding achievements, contributions, and performances, FIBA presents a variety of prestigious awards. These accolades honor players, coaches, officials, and teams who have made significant impacts on the sport, showcasing the best of international basketball.

FIBA Basketball World Cup MVP

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is one of the most prestigious individual honors given at the FIBA Basketball World Cup. Awarded to the standout performer of the tournament, the MVP is recognized for their exceptional skill, leadership, and impact on their team’s success. Past recipients include basketball legends such as Kevin Durant (USA), Pau Gasol (Spain), and Dirk Nowitzki (Germany), who have all left an indelible mark on the tournament.

FIBA All-Star Five

The FIBA All-Star Five award recognizes the top five players of the FIBA Basketball World Cup, chosen based on their performances throughout the tournament. This all-star team typically includes two guards, two forwards, and one center, representing the best talent on display. The selection highlights players who have demonstrated outstanding skills, consistency, and sportsmanship, contributing significantly to their teams’ success.

FIBA Continental Championship MVPs and All-Star Fives

Similar to the World Cup, FIBA awards MVPs and All-Star Five honors at each of its continental championships, such as EuroBasket, AfroBasket, FIBA Asia Cup, and FIBA AmeriCup. These awards recognize the best players from each continent, celebrating their achievements and contributions to the game at a regional level.

FIBA Women’s Basketball Awards

FIBA places a strong emphasis on promoting and recognizing excellence in women’s basketball. At the Women’s Basketball World Cup and continental championships, FIBA presents MVP and All-Star Five awards to outstanding female players. These honors acknowledge the top performers and role models in women’s basketball, highlighting their contributions to the sport’s growth and popularity.

FIBA 3×3 Awards

With the rapid rise of 3×3 basketball, FIBA has introduced awards to recognize the best in this dynamic format. The MVP and Team of the Tournament awards are presented at the FIBA 3×3 World Cup and other major 3×3 competitions. These accolades honor players who excel in the fast-paced, high-energy environment of 3×3 basketball, showcasing their unique skills and athleticism.

FIBA Coach of the Year

The FIBA Coach of the Year award honors the top coach in international basketball. This award is given to a coach who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, strategic acumen, and success with their team. Recipients are recognized for their ability to inspire and guide their players, contributing to the growth and success of their national or club teams on the international stage.

FIBA Hall of Fame

The FIBA Hall of Fame celebrates the careers and contributions of some of the greatest figures in basketball history. Inductees include players, coaches, referees, and administrators who have made significant impacts on the sport. The Hall of Fame serves to honor those who have dedicated their lives to basketball, preserving their legacy for future generations. Notable inductees include players like Michael Jordan, Arvydas Sabonis, and Hortência Marcari, as well as legendary coaches such as Aleksandr Gomelsky and Pat Summitt.

FIBA Order of Merit

The FIBA Order of Merit is a prestigious award given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the development and promotion of basketball. Recipients include administrators, officials, and other influential figures who have played pivotal roles in advancing the sport globally. This honor recognizes their dedication and service to basketball, highlighting their lasting impact on the game.

FIBA Lifetime Achievement Award

The FIBA Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have devoted their careers to basketball, making significant contributions over an extended period. This award celebrates the dedication, passion, and achievements of those who have helped shape the sport’s history and future. It serves as a testament to their enduring influence on basketball at all levels.


FIBA’s awards play a crucial role in celebrating and recognizing the achievements and contributions of those who excel in the world of basketball. From players and coaches to officials and administrators, these accolades honor the best in the sport, highlighting their impact and inspiring future generations. By recognizing excellence through these awards, FIBA continues to promote the growth and development of basketball worldwide, ensuring that the legacy of the sport’s greatest contributors is celebrated and remembered.